SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholarship

The SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholarship was established in 1979 in honor of internationally famed chemist and former SCA Board Chair, Dr. Glenn T. Seaborg.

In 1952, Dr. Seaborg received the Nobel prize for his work in transuranium Glenn T. Seaborgelements He discovered or co-discoved numerous atomic elements, including atomic element number 106, which was officially named Seaborgium in his honor in 1994. Dr. Seaborg held many distinguished positions including serving as Chair of the Atomic Energy Commission under President Kennedy and Chancellor of the University of  California at Berkeley. Dr. Seaborg was also a Chairman Emeritus of the Swedish Council of America and in 1962 was named Swedish American of the  Year by Vasa Order of America. In addition to his visionary leadership of SCA, Dr. Seaborg also provided leadership to many Swedish-American organizations and was widely recognized across the Swedish-American community for his dedicated leadership.

The Seaborg Scholarship is presented annually to an outstanding student selected from a list of candidates nominated by the Presidents of each of the six Swedish Heritage Colleges that maintain an active connection with modern Scandinavia through language study, student exchange programs, and cultural events. Nominees must be a science or mathematics majors, be full-time students at the junior or senior level. Nominations are made on the basis of past academic achievement, demonstrated ability to conduct independent research, creative potential, and ability to represent effectively and positively the six Swedish-American colleges and the Swedish Council of America at SIYSS and the Nobel festivities

In addition to receiving airfare and a stipend for living expenses, the recipient of the Seaborg Scholarship is one of a handful of young international scientists who participate in the Stockholm International Youth Science Seminar, a weeklong series of events arranged in conjunction with the Nobel festivities which take place each December. In the words of one recent recipient, this is “truly the experience of a lifetime”.